Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Directory

Central Administration

Main Phone Number 865-974-3177
Gretchen Neisler, Vice Provost and Director gneisler@utk.edu
Noah Rost, Associate Director rost@utk.edu
Lamonya Davis, Administrative Coordinator II lamonya@utk.edu
Amy Gregory, Administrative Coordinator I agrego20@utk.edu

Asia Engagement Office

Launched in 2019, the Office of Asia Engagement (OAE) provides strategic planning, support, and coordination for the University of Tennessee’s engagement in Asia by serving as a hub for research, academic programs, and outreach.

Website OAE
Main Phone Number 865-974-5752
Rachel Rui, Director jrui@utk.edu
Jie “Daisy” Shen, Coordinator I jshen19@utk.edu
Hannah Stanley, Student Communications Assistant hstanle2@vols.utk.edu
Marcella Tocco, Student Communications Assistant mtocco1@vols.utk.edu

Communications Office

The Communications Office provides services to all CGE units to promote news, activities, and programs to both internal and external audiences. 

Website Communications
Main Phone Number 865-974-5752
Rachel Rui, Director jrui@utk.edu
Jie “Daisy” Shen, Coordinator I jshen19@utk.edu
Hannah Stanley, Student Communications Assistant hstanle2@vols.utk.edu
Marcella Tocco, Student Communications Assistant mtocco1@vols.utk.edu

English Language Institute

The English Language Institute was organized in 1978 by a campus-wide interdisciplinary committee to provide intensive English language study for prospective University of Tennessee students, visitors, and professionals. Its mission is to offer a sound program of instruction in English as a second language, to promote research in language pedagogy, and to provide a language learning resource for Tennessee’s non–English speaking public.

Website ELI
Main Phone Number 865-974-3404
Jim Hamrick, Director hamrickj@utk.edu
Em Chitty, Senior Teaching Associate echitty@utk.edu
Douglas Terry, Teaching Associate dterry1@utk.edu
Anthony Schmidt, Teaching Associate eli@utk.edu
Steve Randolph, Student Services Assistant II srando13@utk.edu
Lauren Wood, Recruitment Specialist lwood16@utk.edu

Global Research Office

The Global Research Office (GRO) catalyzes the University of Tennessee’s faculty to extend their research and reach across the world. It does so by supporting faculty initiatives to cultivate mutually beneficial partnerships and international research initiatives.  

Website GRO
Main Phone Number 865-974-3177
Jamie McGowan, Director jmcgowan10@utk.edu
Peggy Myers, Administrative Coordinator I pmyers1@utk.edu

International House

The I-House is proud to welcome international and domestic students to engage and grow as global citizens by hosting a variety of culturally immersive programs and events throughout the year.

Website I-House
Main Phone Number 865-974-4453
Scott Cantrell, Director scottcantrell@utk.edu
Amanda Tompkins, Assistant Director atompki5@utk.edu
Vicki Easterday, Administrative Specialist I veasterday@utk.edu
Paola Bustos, Graduate Teaching Assistant ihousega1@utk.edu
Hollyann Larson, Graduate Teaching Assistant ihousega2@utk.edu
Evan Oliver, Graduate Teaching Assistant ihousega3@utk.edu

International Student and Scholar Services

ISSS provides orientation and advising to international students after they have been admitted to the university. ISSS also works with UT departments and colleges to serve international scholars who visit our campus in order to lecture, teach, or conduct research.

Website ISSS
Main Phone Number 865-974-3177
Scott Cantrell, Director scottcantrell@utk.edu
Elizabeth Washam Smith, Assistant Director elizabeth@utk.edu
David P. Lawson, Coordinator II dplawson@utk.edu
Brian Todd, Coordinator I btodd@utk.edu
Erik Simons, Coordinator I esimons@utk.edu
Yevgeniya Teyfukova, Coordinator I yevie@utk.edu
Candice Gilreath, Coordinator I candicegilreath@utk.edu
Jenni Wright, Administrative Specialist II jwrig122@utk.edu
Atheeqa Aijaz, Graduate Research Assistant international@utk.edu

Programs Abroad Office

PAO is committed to fostering global awareness and academic, personal, and professional growth by offering a broad range of study, internship, research, and service–learning opportunities outside the United States.

Website PAO
Main Phone Number 865-974-3177
Anne Hulse, Interim Director ahulse1@utk.edu
Heather Grigsby, Senior Coordinator II hgrigsby@utk.edu
Brittany Davidson, Coordinator I bcoats2@utk.edu
Michael Saenz, Interim Assistant Director msaenz@utk.edu
Annastasia Williams, Coordinator I awill293@utk.edu
Susie Jenkins, Administrative Specialist I cjenki10@utk.edu
Gisela Goeritz, Administrative Coordinator I ggoeritz@utk.edu
Karen Richters, Marketing and Outreach Coordinator richters@utk.edu
Madeline Brown, Graduate Research Assistant paoga1@utk.edu