Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Directory

Central Administration

Location Melrose Hall, 4th Floor
Main Phone Number 865-974-3177
Gretchen Neisler, Vice Provost and Director gneisler@utk.edu
Barbra Giorgini, Executive Director bgiorgin@utk.edu
Amy Gregory, Administrative Coordinator I agrego20@utk.edu
Archana (Ana) Patton, Administrative Assistant apatto14@utk.edu
David Seifert, Administrative Assistant dseifer3@vols.utk.edu

Asia Engagement Office

Launched in 2019, the Office of Asia Engagement (OAE) provides strategic planning, support, and coordination for the University of Tennessee’s engagement in Asia by serving as a hub for research, academic programs, and outreach.

Website OAE
Location International House, Room 110
Main Phone Number 865-974-6676
Rachel Rui, Director jrui@utk.edu
Daisy Shen, Administrative Coordinator I jshen19@utk.edu

Communications Office

The Communications Office provides services to all CGE units to promote news, activities, and programs to both internal and external audiences. 

Website Communications
Location International House, Room 110
Main Phone Number 865-974-5752
Rachel Rui, Director jrui@utk.edu
Daisy Shen, Administrative Coordinator I jshen19@utk.edu
Jason Moody, Communications Specialist jmoody9@utk.edu
Valentina Gómez, Communications Student Assistant (Social Media) vgomez1@vols.utk.edu
Chang Gao, Communications Student Assistant (Social Media) cgao5@vols.utk.edu
Mary Dolan, Communications Student Assistant (Writer) mdolan8@vols.utk.edu
Maria Gilbert, Events Intern shughe43@vols.utk.edu
Sydney Hughes, Events Intern mgilbe22@vols.utk.edu

English Language Institute

The English Language Institute was organized in 1978 by a campus-wide interdisciplinary committee to provide intensive English language study for prospective University of Tennessee students, visitors, and professionals. Its mission is to offer a sound program of instruction in English as a second language, to promote research in language pedagogy, and to provide a language learning resource for Tennessee’s non–English speaking public.

Website ELI
Location Conference Center Building, Suite 120 (600 Henley Street)
Main Phone Number 865-974-3404
Em Chitty, Interim Director echitty@utk.edu
Douglas Terry, Teaching Associate dterry1@utk.edu
Michelle McGuirk, Administrative Assistant TBA
Ned Garlington, Adjunct Instructor jgarlin1@utk.edu
Golshan Dehkordi, Adjunct Instructor gdehkord@utk.edu
Hooman Saeli, Visiting Instructor hsaeli@utk.edu

Global Research Office

The Global Research Office catalyzes the University of Tennessee’s faculty to extend their research and reach across the world. It does so by supporting faculty initiatives to cultivate mutually beneficial partnerships and international research initiatives.  

Website Global Research Office
Location Melrose Hall, 4th Floor
Main Phone Number 865-974-3177
Jamie McGowan, Director jmcgowan10@utk.edu
Shawn Lenker, Assistant Director for Global Health & Safety  slenker@utk.edu
Peggy Myers, Administrative Coordinator I pmyers1@utk.edu
Sara Allaman, Graduate Research Assistant sallaman@vols.utk.edu

International House

The I-House is proud to welcome international and domestic students to engage and grow as global citizens by hosting a variety of culturally immersive programs and events throughout the year.

Website I-House
Location International House
Main Phone Number 865-974-4453
Lauren Wood, Director lwood16@utk.edu
TC (Tur Chung Lee), Graduate Teaching Assistant ihousega1@utk.edu
Zoya Kamil, Graduate Teaching Assistant ihousega2@utk.edu
Yana (Joanna) Mitsos, Graduate Teaching Assistant ihousega3@utk.edu

International Support Services

ISSS provides orientation and advising to international students after they have been admitted to the university. ISSS also works with UT departments and colleges to serve international scholars who visit our campus in order to lecture, teach, or conduct research.

Website ISSS
Location Melrose Hall, 3rd Floor
Main Phone Number 865-974-3177
William Vittetoe, Director wvitteto@utk.edu
Erik Simons, Assistant Director esimons@utk.edu
David P. Lawson, Coordinator II dplawson@utk.edu
Brian Todd, Coordinator I btodd@utk.edu
Yevgeniya Teyfukova, Coordinator I yevie@utk.edu
Elizabeth Clevenger, Coordinator I ccleven2@utk.edu
Rachel Babich, Administrative Specialist II rbuczyns@utk.edu
Jihyeon Choe, Coordinator I jchoe5@utk.edu
Paul Keener, Graduate Assistant international@utk.edu

Programs Abroad Office

PAO is committed to fostering global awareness and academic, personal, and professional growth by offering a broad range of study, internship, research, and service-learning opportunities outside the United States.

Website PAO
Location Melrose Hall, 2nd Floor
Main Phone Number 865-974-3177
Carolyn Becker, Director cbecker1@utk.edu
Gisela Goeritz, Administrative Coordinator I ggoeritz@utk.edu
Albrianna Jenkins, Marketing and Outreach Coordinator ajenki58@utk.edu
Joshua Spurling, Coordinator I jspurli2@utk.edu
Hunter Baird, Coordinator I hbaird1@utk.edu
Tessa Takash, Program Coordinator ttakash@utk.edu